The Year Ahead

2011 will be an important year for all young people. We are set to face extensive cuts to youth services, opportunities and ultimately our futures. My job this year will be to oppose budgets which excessively affect young people. In a fair society, we should not bear the brunt of this deficit. I hope that all of you will join me at public meetings and demonstrations against inequality.

For the first time ever in 2011 I will be able to vote. In May all 18 year olds will be able to take part in the referendum on voting reform. As part of my campaign to up youth involvement in politics, I will be calling for all eligible to vote to take part in this key decision that will define our democracy.

Harry at the Youth Work Unit

Health care is still my priority and I plan to roll out a Young Carer’s card in Sheffield by the end of 2011, giving support to those young people who truly need it, and to whom we owe so much.

In February I will have just one year left as your Member of Youth Parliament. I want to make the most of those 12 months and bring about what you elected me to achieve, a fairer, more involved and more supportive society for young people.

Have a good 2011

–          Harry Carter MYP

About HarryCarter

I'm Harry Carter and I represent young people as a Member of the UK Youth Parliament. I'm a young social activist, and I'm working to create a fairer, more supportive and more involved society.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Year Ahead

  1. Pingback: Youth Unemployment nears 1million | Harry Carter, Sheffield MYP

Leave a Reply

