Biting Back

The campaign to get rid of Mosquito Alarms has taken many leaps forward in the past few weeks. In my role as the Local Representative in the “Bite Back” campaign I’ve been lobbying key decision makers since the start of the project, to ban the device.

Harry with Council Leader Paul Scriven

In November 2010 I spoke to officials at the Council in terms of drawing up the proposals for the council cabinet to consider. The recommendation was the removal of the Mosquito from local authority buildings and to disallow all future applications for them on privately owned properties. I strongly believe in the total abolition of this device. I outlined my views in a video posted back in August 2010 and have since contributed to articles in the press about the mosquito.

On Friday 7th January 2011 I secured a meeting with Leader of the Council, Paul Scriven, to put forward my support for the proposals. Sheffield would be the first major city to take them up and a key success for a campaign I am proud to be a part of. By setting an example, Sheffield can hopefully lead further cities to follow suit and remove these ethically questionable devices.

And now this coming Wednesday, the Sheffield Council Cabinet will look at the proposal that was initially created by myself and UKYP. This campaign is gathering momentum because it is the right thing for young people everywhere. Law abiding citizens do no deserve to be treated as if they were criminals, as determined by their age. Banning the devices will help create the fairer society, you elected me to fight for.

– Harry Carter MYP

About HarryCarter

I'm Harry Carter and I represent young people as a Member of the UK Youth Parliament. I'm a young social activist, and I'm working to create a fairer, more supportive and more involved society.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

