Harry Backs Plan for Job Opportunities

Today I read the news that the Shadow Chancellor is trying to secure a vote in parliament that will introduce a new tax on bank bonuses. The money raised will be used for a number of social initiatives, among them, creating work for Britain’s young and jobless.

I believe this step will greatly improve young people’s chances of finding work, and it will add to the Work schemes already proposed by the government. I’ll be writing to the Shadow Chancellor to welcome this action, and the principle of using capital from the city to fund improve society for everyone.

Further to this, I will be asking Ministers and other government MPs to support these plans, and therefore support the young people in the communities they represent. With cuts to career services, like Connexions here in Sheffield, we as young people must take every opportunity available to us when finding work. That’s why I’m supporting this plan for a bonus tax to fund youth job prospects. At UKYP’s Annual Sitting in July, I’ll be urging fellow Members of Youth Parliament to join me in pressuring parliament to support this change for the better.

Harry Carter
MYP for Sheffield

Read the full BBC News Story – here

About HarryCarter

I'm Harry Carter and I represent young people as a Member of the UK Youth Parliament. I'm a young social activist, and I'm working to create a fairer, more supportive and more involved society.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

